The illest music

New Music Round-Up *Updated*

What’s ill, people? Hope ya’ll are enjoying this find Thursday afternoon – I certainly am. Got a day off work so I’ve just been loafing about, scanning the blogosphere for new music. It’s still a little early in the day but there are def some gems floating around out there.

How would ya’ll like to hear some new Deadmau5, Dr. Dre, T.I., Em & Royce and, best of all, a new music video from an up-and-coming band straight out of the illadelph? I shouldn’t even have to ask.

First up we’ve got a banger from Deadmau5. There seem to be a couple versions of this floating around online (The one on Hypem, for instance, is about three minutes shorter than the one I’m sharing with you) but either way, it’s a dope track.

Deadmau5 – Right This Second

Next up we’ve got a a new jawn from T.I. (with an assist from Em) Not a bad track, all around. Definitely wouldn’t mind hearing it on the radio. Just about everything Em’s on right now that gets massive rotation (barring No Love) is annoying as fuck so it’ll be nice for a change. And T.I.’s not so bad himself. He used to be one of those rappers I couldn’t stand, but I appreciate how much more skilled and nuanced he’s gotten over the years. I full expect him to be one of rap’s elder statesmen at some point in the near future.

T.I. – All She Wrote (ft. Eminem)

And now, something I never really thought I’d get to be blogging about – the first single of Dr. Dre’s upcoming album, Detox. Akon seems a bit out of place on the hook (but it does remind of gradeschool/early high school when Akon was on every god damn hook)

It’s a nice change of place. I never really expected Dre to drop a straight up weed song for his new single. The beat is sick and verses are dope but…I dunno, something about it seems lacking to me. It’s not a bad song by any stretch, but something about it just isn’t there. I think it needs more bass. Or maybe it’s Akon.

Dr. Dre – Kush (ft. Akon & Snoop Dogg)

Annnnnnnd here’s some shit I wasn’t even going to blog about but literally just found two second ago. A motherfucking Bad Meets Evil reunion track – Eminem & Royce Da 5’9″

Eminem & Royce Da 5’9 – Echo

Sorry about the wackass website drops, but that really seems to be only version on Youtube. The link is fine though, download away peoples. Not much to say about this track other than the fact that’s it pure fucking fire. And you know how you follow that up? With another brand new Em and Royce collab.

Eminem & Royce Da 5’9 – Living Proof

Today is a good fucking day for rap. One of the best duos of all time have finally squashed the beef and decided to get back to what’s important, putting out hot music.

And, because I love ya’ll, here’s another new jawn…from Dr. Dre (ft. Eminem.) Is this track gonna be on Detox? Maybe. Who knows. Either way, it’s flames. No youtube video to share, UMG is being a motherfucker and taking them all down.

Dr. Dre – I Need A Doctor (ft. Eminem & Skylar Grey)

And that’s enough rap, lets end it with something a bit more chill. Here’s a new video from local band, The Looks of It. It’s pretty folksy, but if that’s something you’re into (or in the mood for) you’ll definitely like this song.

If you wanna check out more of their tunes, head to their Soundcloud page. And I know, what a strange transition between DeadMaus5, a bunch of Em and Dre, and then this.

And just to round out, here’s the full interview Hova did on the Daily Show last night to promote his new memoir, Decoded. Def gonna try and get my hands on that at some point. Sorry the last two video’s aren’t embedded, WordPress is being uppity for some reason.

Have a nice day, homies.

-Jules

PS: Expect a review of the Nicki Minaj album later.

UPDATE!

It would be as soon as I post this I find some new jams. Shit.

Check out this video from local R&B singer, taragirl

And check out this remix of “Power” by Ninjasonik.

Much love to FiftyoneFiftyone for helping to keep me up on all that goes down in our fair city.

Leave a Reply

