The illest music

It’s Friday, bitches. Time for some jams.

Dubstep.

Witch House

Bhangra-Soundclash-Dubstep

Mark Ronson/The Business Intl/Spank Rock

Mad Decent/Das Racist collaboration.

Need I say anymore?

This first track found it’s way into my hands via Twitter. Yes, that blatant symptom of our society’s ever growing narcissism really is useful for something. Not sure if I’d call it the grimiest dubstep ever, but it’s not even 8am yet and I haven’t my first smoke of the day yet. I’m not going to argue with anyone about anything.

Drift the Dean – The Worm

Next up we’ve go ourselves some Witch House. Found this via the always amazing Warren Ellis (and you can find it at the sourcehere. I’ve seen him do some posts about Witch House in the past but I’ve been kind of reluctant to dip my toe in that pool (mostly because I have a disdain for really long mixes) but no longer.

Maybe it’s the combination of only having been roused from a few minutes ago and that I’m still feeling the after affects of last night’s shenanigans, but this mix is kind of like the feeling you’ve got when it’s 4am, your drunk is only just starting to fade but everyone else is passed out so you grudgingly resign yourself to going to sleep…after one more cigarette.

Story Of Isaac † † Haunted House MIX by Story of Isaac

And here’s the tracklist:
1. >>>>▲2. I Know Your Face -CROSSOVER
3. Outside – Unison
4. IxC999 – White Ring
5. Beverly – Salem
6. felt u – White Ring
7. Tonight (o0o0o0o 2NITERMX) – The Big Pink
8. DEEP VOID – xix
9. gOth bb – †‡†
10. HIGH HEAT – Fostercare
11. Slow Burn – AIDS-3D
12. AIR – Terminal Twilight
13. BLACK LEATHER GLOVES – Cosmetics
14. Kleen as Kleenex – Crystal Castles
15. Holographic Landscape – S U R V I V EԀ
16. BΞΛ†Z 0F L0VΞ (BLΛCK RΛ!NB0VV ΞD!†) – VillA
17. The Darkside (Story Of Isaac Witch Edit) -Hypertraxx
18. Silence (Mater Suspiria Vision Zombie Rave Edit) – Delerium
19. pyr∆mid – ▲
20. if u cAn dR3Am – pRinc3ss3s​ – GR†LLGR†LL
21. Unthinkable (PHYSICAL THERAPY REAL HEAVY VIBE) – Alicia Keys
22. I Can’t Stand – Zola Jesus
23. Juke Ya Girl – Threat Misses
24. tent – Jack Donoghue
25. NoSummr4U – oOoOO
26. ASIA – Salem

And here’s where you can click if you want it for keeps.

1. Desi Carnival
2. Watch my Naag
3. Lean Wit Pag
4. Air Waves Di Rani

Here’s our next set of jams as well as a discovery of sorts. At about the 25 minute point of that Witch House Mix I accidentally started playing the first song on this playlist by Dutty Chutney. I think I’ve created something beautiful. Is Witch-House-Bhangra-Dubstep the next big thing? Further experimentation in Garageband will be required.

For those ignoring my ramblings and wondering what the fuck Bhangra-Dubstep could possibly be as well as who the fuck are Dutty Chutney, I’m getting to that: 1. A good listen. 2. I couldn’t tell you. They’re a local group so I’m glad to show them some love. They actually do a live set every 3rd Friday of the month at Fluid. 21+ so I can’t go (sigh) but maybe Trev’ll hit them up in November.

The Bike Song

New jam from Mark Ronson, The Business Intl. and Spank Rock. Great song all about, and Spank’s verse really pleased me because of the environmental stance he takes (sort of.) I’ve been trying to do up a post on Green-Rap for a while now but I’ve had a hard time finding examples.

And I can’t just write about Cypress Hill.

Last but not least is a video preview of Das Racist’s new mixtape with Diplo, “Sit Down, Man.” It’ll be dropping September 14th over at Maddecent. Don’t worry about forgetting, we’ll be here to remind you.

Don’t I love for waking up and doing this instead of something productive like my French or American Lit homework?

-Jules.

PS: I’m putting the callout on Trev and Lars. Stop drinking and blog, fools.

2 responses

  1. I want to thank you for sharing your propositions and taking your time to the stuff you write! Good work!

    December 9, 2010 at 3:30 AM

    • Jay Galette

      Hey, no problem man. We do it for the love of ill music.

      December 9, 2010 at 2:34 PM

Leave a Reply

