The illest music

Sunday Salvo: Hip-Hop Bombs & Blogroll Escalation

A few weekends ago, fueled by beer, Beitcher (who writes over at The New Montreal) and I almost entered into what almost became heated argument over who we thought was the best hip-hop producer. I mostly held my tongue because arguments like this usually can’t go any place good (especially when people have been drinking.)

Shit, someone’s preference in producer usually stems a lot from where the musically worldview is coming from. Beitcher (and I say this in the nicest way) is a fucking Hipster and lives in the Hipster capital of the New World (Since Williamburg has been falling off,) this is why him busting out Diplo as his choice for greatest producer isn’t surprising to me.

Now I love Diplo but I definitely disagree with my friend’s opinion. For one thing, I think a lot of Diplo’s production is hit or miss. You either love it or you hate it and there’s no middle ground. Next, I think Diplo spends a lot of time banking on the kitsch of being Diplo. I don’t want to get into a long treatise about authenticity and how much Diplo has or is lacking it, but if you take a blonde hair, blue-eyed motherfucker, and put them next to M.I.A. or Switch, you’re going to draw plenty of attention from hipsters and bloggers. I’m not saying it’s wrong for an artist to cash in on their aesthetic…

…actually, I might be, just a little bit.

Continue

Anyway. What this all boils down to is that when I was checking out the net for new tracks this morning I stumbled across a song whose producer who I’d say without hesitation is a better than Diplo (but I’m not going to go so far as to declare him the greatest producer of all time): Mark Ronson. Yeah, that’s right. Go listen to Ronson’s catalog and Diplo’s and try and tell me the Mad Decent progenitor’s catalog is more palatable than Mark’s.

You can’t, Beitcher. You can’t.

Now check out the new single from his third album Record Collection, set to be released in October, featuring the always amazing, Ghostface Killah.

Lose It (In The End) – Mark Ronson (ft. Ghostface Killah)
Lose It

*Bonus Ronson & Ghostface*


“Ooh Wee” – Mark Ronson (ft. Ghostface Killah, Nate Dogg & Trife)

Yes, this is that banging ass song from Harold & Kumar.

Found a new Cudi drop over at Pigeons and Planes. I was hoping this would make up for the disappointing ish with Kanye (which I blogged about last night) but…nope. Yeah. It’s just as shitty, if not worse. This is also my last straw for his Emo Stoner nonsense.

Find a new horse to beat, nigga. Seriously, I know I’m not the only person who’s starting to find this a tad bit alienating. I guess there’s a sort of comfort to be had it in when I’m all fucked up and I feel like wallowing in self-pity….but I try not to have those days, you know? Because I’m 20 years old and it’s time to grow up.

You’re rich now, homey, stop pretending you have problems. Smoke less weed or something.

Mr. Rager

Not to get completely down on my motherfucker, check out this remix of “She Came Along” which I copped over at Chubby Beaver’s. It’s dope, but I think you’d have to be pretty e-tarded to really get into this song. Give that a shot if that’s your twist.

She Came Along (Ecstasy Of Club Mix)

– Jules

2 responses

  1. thanks for the shoutout! its a dope song

    August 15, 2010 at 3:55 PM

    • Jay Galette

      No problem at all homie! Always looking to share a little love, especially if it’s Cudi (even though me and him have beef, hahaah)

      August 15, 2010 at 4:19 PM

Leave a Reply

